Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

129°AB. ARG. HSBC - Date 10 - P1

Written by Argentine Polo Association
Photography Matías Callejo / Prensa AAP



On Sunday 27, at the start of the tenth date (last in Zone B) of the 129th HSBC Argentine Polo Open, La Irenita Clinova defeated La Esquina 14-8 on field 2 in Palermo, won the Trapiche Cup, which was at stake, he added 300 important points for the Ranking and thus reached 500, placed seventh and was automatically seeded for the 2023 Triple Crown.

 LI Clinova looked for the win from the start and took a huge advantage of seven goals averaging the third chukker, which was impossible for La Esquina to discount, which thus said goodbye to the tournament without achieving any win and thus, could not achieve seeding for next year's Triple Crown.

 At 4:30 p.m., on field 1, a new edition of the Argentine polo superclassic will be played: La Dolfina Saudi, undefeated in the tournament and with the return of Uruguayan Pelón Stirling, vs. Ellerstina Turismo Felgueres , a group forced to win by a 3-goal advantage and converting 8 goals or more to achieve their objective. The winner of the match will take the Imperial Cup.

The teams and progression:

La Irenita Clinova: Facundo Fernández Llorente 8 (1 goal), Tomás Fernández Llorente (h) 8 (1), Bautista Bayugar 8 (10, five penalties) and Isidro Strada 8 (2). Overall: 32.


La Esquina: Pascual Sáinz de Vicuña 6 (2), Cristian Laprida (h) 8 (1), Lucas James 7 (1) and Ignacio Laprida 8 (4 penalties). Overall: 29.

Irenita Clinova: 2-0, 6-0, 7-2, 9-3, 9-4, 12-5, 13-6 and 14-8.

Judges: Matías Baibiene and Martín Pascual.                           Referee: Martin Aguerre.


 IMG 4047IMG 4048IMG 4049IMG 4051IMG 4052










The formations for the second game of the day:




La Dolfina Saudi: Adolfo Cambiaso (f) 10, David Stirling (f) 10, Adolfo Cambiaso (n) 9 and Juan M. Nero 10. Total: 39.


Ellerstina Turismo Felgueres: Facundo Pieres 10, Hilario Ulloa 9, Gonzalo Pieres (m) 9 and Nicolás Pieres 10. Total: 38.




Judges: Gastón Lucero and Gonzalo López Vargas.               Referee: José I. Araya.



All matches are broadcast live on Star+ (Argentina and Latin America) and via streaming on https://live.aapolo.com/ Subscribe!


The teams that were free on these dates:


La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus: Facundo Sola 8, Alfredo Bigatti 9, Guillermo Caset (m) 9 and Matías Torres Zavaleta 8. Total: 34.


La Dolfina breeding: Guillermo Terrera (f) 9, Tomás Panelo 8, Diego Cavanagh 8 and Alejo Taranco 8. Total: 33.

They are sponsors of the 129th Argentine Polo Open HSBC, HSBC as Title Sponsor; Volkswagen as Gold Sponsor; ESPN, Imperial, Motorola, Johnnie Walker, Trapiche, La Nación and Omint as Official Sponsors; La Martina, CentraLab, Case IH, Río Uruguay Seguros and US Polo Assn. as Sponsors; and Casablanca, Termas de Río Hondo and Argentine Beef as Advertisers; while WE ARE SPORTS is the exclusive commercial agent.